POP QUIZ: What is/was your mother’s favorite food?

In honor of Mother’s Day coming up this weekend, I pose the following question/pop-quiz: What is (or was) your mother’s favorite food (aside from dessert)?

I’m asking because it suddenly occurred to me that I don’t know this answer myself. So this is a sort of confession. My mom likes a lot of stuff, but I really don’t know what her absolute favorite is. She reads this blog, so maybe she’ll respond and enlighten me. But, it got me thinking…I wonder how many people actually know the answer to this question?

Do you?

Photo by Deb Hakes (http://www.deborahhakes.com)

“A mother is a person who seeing there are only four pieces of pie for five people, promptly announces she never did care for pie.” — Tenneva Jordan

13 responses to “POP QUIZ: What is/was your mother’s favorite food?

  1. Crawfish Etouffee or anything she doesn’t have to make herself 🙂

  2. Wine and cheese.

  3. Beth, your mom and my mom would get along! She spent a lot of time in New Orleans back in the day and loves all things Creole. However – I think her favorite would have to be crab cakes. If she sees them on a menu, she has to have them.

  4. Anything she grew in her garden OR a cheesy pasta.

  5. Busted – Mom’s just like for everyone else to be happy, right? I’m finding out soon!

    By the way, I love the quote and will most likely steal it for my FB status on Mother’s Day.

  6. Hmm, I seem to recall something like chicken and dumplings, but I really don’t know!! I will be finding out very soon.

  7. I must confess that, when I first read the question posed, I read it as “what is(was) your favorite food made by your mother” and my immediate answer was Swiss Steak cuz I always requested my mom to make it. However, when I reread the question, I guess my answer would be MY MOTHER’S SWISS STEAK!!

    • Huh. In a million years, that never would have guessed that! So is your Swiss Steak not her Swiss Steak? Was there some magical thing she did to it that you’ve never been able to figure out? Or just that nothing ever tastes as good when you make it yourself as when your mother makes it for you?

      • No, my Swiss Steak is not hers. Since she didn’t have a recipe, I’m having to try to create one. I made some last week and I’m getting closer to what I remember, but still having to do some tweaking. I’ve found that baking it at a lower temp for a longer period of time is part of the ‘magic.’ Couple more batches and I should have it pretty close to what I want. My goodness, my mouth is salivating just thinking about it!

  8. Carri Comerio-Casciato

    Deviled food cake with whipped cream icing being tops and Cabbage rolls (her grandma’s recipe) second.

  9. My mother loved everything except lamb. Too late now to find out what her fave was, but I suspect it was everything. She was one of those half-starved Depression Era kids that anyone younger than me doesn’t really want to hear about. She pretended to love pickled pigs’ feet above all things, because it was the one snack she could keep in the house that my brother and I wouldn’t raid. 🙂

Leave a Reply

